Reviews & Editorials

Pizza Today Logo

5 Questions with Chef Anthony Russo

Author: Pizza Today

Posted: Fri, 6 Jan 2012 05:05 PM


Chef Anthony Russo has created two unique restaurant concepts, Russo’s New York Pizzeria and Russo’s Coal Fired Italian Kitchen, based in Houston, Texas. The two concepts have a combined 25 locations. Russo gives Southerners a taste of Italy’s fresh, homemade recipes and New York’s infamous pizza slices.


Q: Why have you decided to grow your concepts through franchising?

A: It became very clear to me that what I had built from the ground up was a true recipe for success, and I wanted to share that. I have always wanted to expand my brand and share my passion for cooking with the world, and I knew that the best way to do that would be to teach others the secrets behind my proven concepts. I love that I get to help my franchisees realize their life goals with a Russo’s franchise.


Q: Your revenues were up 15 to 20 percent over 2010, which is astounding in a recovering economy. To what do you attribute this success?

A: I believe that it’s about understanding what your customers need. We understand that the country is going through a rough time and we’re all in it together. We offer a lot of deals and coupons because we know that our community needs a break and we want them to enjoy some of the finer things in life without breaking the bank. I think the community really responds to that kind of relationship.


Q: You have developed a line of retail sauces, soups and dressings. What’s the first step in making this happen?

A: It became clear to me from customer feedback that there was a real craving in the marketplace for quality Italian foods made the traditional way using fresh ingredients. The first step is realizing that a product you already make fulfills that need perfectly. The retail line evolved organically once I discovered how much my customers wanted to be able to serve authentic Italian meals at home and I realized I could provide that to them.



Q: Are you concerned about consistency throughout the brand as you grow?

A: We are very focused on assuring that every guest has a consistently excellent experience at every one of our stores, whether corporate or franchise owned. The Russo family name and reputation is staked on that experience. For that reason, we are in frequent contact with our stores to ensure that they are providing customers with the food and service standards for which Russo’s is known.


Q: You offer two concepts: Russo’s New York Pizzeria and Russo’s Coal-Fired Italian Kitchen. Why add an upscale option to your brand?

A: The response to Russo’s New York Pizzeria has been phenomenal over the years, and we found that there was a high demand for authentic New York-style pizza and pasta dishes with fresh, premium, quality ingredients. So, we decided to take our concept to another level and incorporate some more upscale ideas that just wouldn’t fit in a home-style pizzeria concept. We really wanted to step it up. I have always had a passion for coal-fired pizza and I just felt like it was the right time to bring an upscale coal fire concept into the Russo’s family.





Pizza News

Middleastexpat Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria - Middleastexpat

Middleastexpat

March 30, 2014

Dubai Media Inc Logo

Anthony in the Studio One TV show - Dubai Meia

Dubai Media Inc

February 20, 2014

http://www.myfoxdfw.com Logo

Deal or Dud - Air Fryer

http://www.myfoxdfw.com

February 19, 2014

FSR Magazine Logo

Making Brunch Profitable

FSR Magazine

February 10, 2014

Tulsa World Logo

Review : Russo's at Tuscany on Yale in Tulsa

Tulsa World

October 3, 2013

Abu Dhabi Week Logo

Slice of the Big Apple

Abu Dhabi Week

September 9, 2013

Chynna Foucek Logo

Restaurant Review: Russo's New York Pizzeria

Chynna Foucek

July 23, 2013

Houston Business Journal Logo

Face to Face with Anthony Russo of Russo's New York Pizzeria

Houston Business Journal

June 4, 2013

QSR Magazine Logo

One to Watch: Russo's New York Pizzeria

QSR Magazine

May 9, 2013

Gillian Duncan - The National UAE Logo

Texas-sized slice of New York for UAE

Gillian Duncan - The National UAE

April 5, 2013

Houston Chronicle Logo

So what's your favorite Houston pizza?

Houston Chronicle

March 21, 2013

PMQ Magazine Logo

Product Spotlight : Gluten-Free Sweets

PMQ Magazine

December 5, 2012

KHOU Great Day Houston Logo

Chef Anthony Russo Demonstrates How to Make Pumpkin Pizza

KHOU Great Day Houston

November 16, 2012

QSR Magazine Logo

Flex Casual: The Best of Both Worlds

QSR Magazine

November 16, 2012

Crain's New York Business Logo

Fro-yo, burger joints turn out for franchise expo

Crain's New York Business

November 16, 2012

Arkansas Business Logo

Group Opens Russo's : Little Rock or Jacksonville?

Arkansas Business

November 16, 2012

TradeArabia News Service Logo

Top US pizza brand debuts in UAE

TradeArabia News Service

August 31, 2012

Andy Scott - CPI Financial Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria wants a pizza of the UAE action

Andy Scott - CPI Financial

August 31, 2012

Restaurant News Logo

Russo’s Brand Celebrates 20 Years of Success

Restaurant News

August 26, 2012

Angie's Big Love of Food Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria - Memphis, TN

Angie's Big Love of Food

May 17, 2012

Celiac Sprue Association Logo

Russo’s New York Pizzeria earnes CSA Recognition Seal

Celiac Sprue Association

April 2, 2012

Grocery Headquarters Logo

Russo’s New York Pizzeria Bites Into Gluten-Free Pizza Line

Grocery Headquarters

February 13, 2012

Franchising.com Logo

Russo’s Has Appetite for Expansion

Franchising.com

January 13, 2012

Nation's Restaurant News Logo

Flex-casual format gains popularity

Nation's Restaurant News

January 12, 2012

QSR Magazine Logo

Treat Customers Like Your Boss' Family

QSR Magazine

January 8, 2012

Pizza Today Logo

5 Questions with Chef Anthony Russo

Pizza Today

January 6, 2012

Houston Chronicle Logo

Brick ovens heat up franchise sales for restaurant

Houston Chronicle

January 2, 2012

Houston Press Logo

Can One Person Eat a 28-Inch Pizza In an Hour?

Houston Press

October 25, 2011

Ron Ruggless Logo

Q&A: Chef Anthony Russo

Ron Ruggless

August 20, 2011

ArkansasBusiness.com Logo

Russo's Italian Kitchen Coming to Conway

ArkansasBusiness.com

August 8, 2011

Pizza Marketplace Logo

Bringing New York slices to Texas and beyond

Pizza Marketplace

July 25, 2011

Dallas Business Journal Logo

Russo's looks for Dallas expansion

Dallas Business Journal

July 20, 2011

ArabianBusiness.com Logo

US pizza firm eyes major Gulf region expansion

ArabianBusiness.com

June 7, 2011

Multi-Unit Franchisee Magazine Logo

Russo's New York Pizza Debuts in Dubai

Multi-Unit Franchisee Magazine

June 7, 2011

Franchisee Satisfation Awards Logo

2011 Top Franchise - Russo's New York Pizzeria

Franchisee Satisfation Awards

April 13, 2011

Entrepreneur Magazine Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria rated Top 2011 Franchise

Entrepreneur Magazine

April 7, 2011

Franchisee Satisfation Awards Logo

Franchisee Satisfation Awards - 2011 Honoree

Franchisee Satisfation Awards

March 23, 2011

TradeArabia News Service Logo

New York pizza firm for Gulfood Dubai

TradeArabia News Service

January 29, 2011

Jay Gambino Esparza Logo

I was in Texas eating a real NY pizza!

Jay Gambino Esparza

December 14, 2010

Marketing Successories Logo

Russo’s New York Ready to Cover the World

Marketing Successories

April 12, 2010

Houston Chronicle Logo

Houston pizza goes to Las Vegas — and China

Houston Chronicle

April 8, 2010

Chain Leader Logo

Russo's New York Pizza Honored by Rachel Ray

Chain Leader

March 10, 2010

QSR Magazine Logo

Russo's New York Pizzeria Owner To Visit U.A.E.

QSR Magazine

February 10, 2010

Click2Houston Logo

2009 Nominee... Best Pizza in Houston Contest

Click2Houston

January 25, 2010

QSR Magazine Online Logo

Italian Concept Wants Healthy Hearts

QSR Magazine Online

January 20, 2010

Entrepreneur Magazine Logo

Entrepreneur Magazine Recognizes Russo's New York Pizzeria

Entrepreneur Magazine

January 8, 2010

Houston Community Newspapers Logo

Sienna couple open new Missouri City pizzeria

Houston Community Newspapers

November 3, 2009

Zagat Survey Logo

Dear Anthony,

Zagat Survey

October 27, 2009

Herald-Voice Logo

New York Pizzeria

Herald-Voice

October 27, 2009

Citysearch Logo

Best of Citysearch: Houston Restaurants

Citysearch

October 27, 2009

AOL CityGuide Logo

AOL Best Pizza 2007: New York Pizzeria

AOL CityGuide

October 27, 2009

U.S. Local Business Association Logo

2008 Houston Award - Best Pizza

U.S. Local Business Association

October 27, 2009

Cook's Tour: Alison Cook Logo

My Russo's Coal-Fired Pizza pix : Pure Torment

Cook's Tour: Alison Cook

August 19, 2008

Pizza Today Logo

Top 100 Pizza Companies 2008

Pizza Today

July 8, 2008